Lessons from Wisdom Teeth

On Friday, I gained the experience of having my wisdom teeth removed. Now that I am on the mend, I could almost try to romanticize it as a rite of passage, but most of you know the truth:
It is unpleasant and I’m hungry all the time.

In order to aid the healing process, I’ve been focusing my limited energy on staying well. Every day it’s been early to bed, early to rise. Breakfast is consumed every morning (a meager one, but it’s better than nothing) Medications have been swallowed with more regularity than vitamins. I haven’t had a hot cup of coffee in six days (but that’s going to change, let’s be realistic).

Water intake has increased, sugar has been eliminated, and my teeth have never received so much attention before. Aside from a regrettable amount of time in front of the television, I’ve been truly dedicated to my health. It didn’t occur to me this event would set about me writing again, but I should have known. Thoughts tend to rise to the surface uninhibited when you have your feet propped up for too long.

It’s taken four gaping holes in my mouth to force my daily routine into submission. Like most twenty-something year olds my habits include a hectic schedule, a shabby diet, and very little rest in between. Staying in fine form is a luxury reserved for when it becomes absolutely necessary. And here’s the nagging thought I can’t seem to shake:

How often do I neglect doing the right thing until it becomes unavoidable?

If I am getting by on 6 ½ hours of sleep, what else have I been ignoring? Almost immediately, the answer that comes to mind is the time I spend in the presence of God. If I am being honest, then aside from reading a psalm here and there, and saying a few words before dinner, I rarely approach the throne of Grace.

Wouldn’t things be different if I knew my life depended on it? If I could never be happy or satisfied again, don’t you think I would carve out time to meditate on His Word? Here I am fussing over a few missing teeth, when all this time I’ve been neglecting the single most important person in my life.

We are meant to partake daily. To be active participants in a living faith.

It kills me to miss a meal. I intend to eat like it is Thanksgiving once my teeth are healed.
Why would I ignore the hunger of my soul?

This poor man called, and the Lord heard him; He saved him out of all his troubles.
Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in Him.
Psalm 34:6 & 8

2 thoughts on “Lessons from Wisdom Teeth

Share Your Thoughts

